Commission History

As the result of rulings made by the Wyoming Supreme Court, the responsibility
for school construction shifted from local school districts to the state, which
created a need for an oversight agency.

The School Facilities Commission (SFC) was established in 2002 when the 56th Legislature enacted House Bill 0043. It was created to ensure adequate and equitable
K-12 educational facilities throughout the state.

The Commission consists of seven voting members who are appointed by the sitting governor and approved by the Legislature. In addition to the voting members,
the state superintendent of public instruction serves in an ex officio, nonvoting capacity. Each appointed member serves a four-year term.